top of page

A Time for Everything

TIME: the indefinite continued progress of existence and events in the past, present, and future regarded as a whole. Ever wonder to yourself or ask the question, "Is time running out?" Have you ever thought, "wow time is flying by?" James says: "Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away" (James 4:14). I look at my family and I get drawn back to little moments in time. It always boggles my mind how we get so trapped in our daily lives and at the end of the day we go, "where has the time gone?" Time does not stand still in moments I wish it would in areas like dates with my wife, family discussion, and game night at home. Other times I wish it would speed up like at work or times of awkward silence. I am constantly checking time at work and always have a computer or a phone handy. Checking time. Minute by minute second by second. Then when I get home where does the phone or computer go? On

the counter or in the laptop bag on the floor somewhere. When we get to a comfortable state of mind we don’t worry about time. We relish time, cherish the moments with family, friends, or date nights. You ever get those pop up pictures on your phone or memories? Memories!

All this, brings me to Ecclesiastes 3:1-8: "To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace." Timing is important. All of these experiences listed in theses verses are appropriate at certain times. We need to appreciate Gods timing in our lives. But what does this revolve around? TIME. How much time do we spend studying? How much time do we spend with Christian brothers and sisters?

How much time preaching the word? Time time time, it is of the essence. We never know when our time will be up. James 4:14 says: “Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.” Yesterday is the past!! Today is a present!! Tomorrow is the future.

Where should we spend all of our time. Focused on the moments right here in front of us. Focused on what Bible tells us and how to be better Christians. John E. Roberts wrote the following poem entitled “I’m Not Growing Old:”

"They say that I am growing old. I’ve heard them say it times untold in language plain and bold. But I’m not growing old; This frail old shell in which I dwell Is growing old I know full well, But I’m not growing old. What if my hair has turned gray? Gray hair is honorable, they say. What if my eyesight’s growing dim? I can still see to follow Him Who sacrificed His life for me There on the cross of Calvary. Why should I care if time’s old plow Has dug some furrows in my brow? Another house, not made with hand, Awaits me in the glory land. My hearing may not be as keen As in the past, it may have been; Still, I can hear my Savior say Come faltering child, this is the way. The outward man, do what I can To lengthen out this life’s short span, Shall perish and return to dust As everything in nature must. But the inward man the Scriptures say, Ah, the inward man Is growing stronger every day. Then how can I be growing old? I’m safe within the Savior’s fold. ‘Er long my soul shall fly away And leave this tenement of clay. This robe of flesh I’ll drop and rise To seize the everlasting prize.  I’ll meet you on the streets of gold And prove that I’m not growing old." 

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page